May 27, 2024  
2024-2025 Catalog 
    
2024-2025 Catalog

Fees & Expenses


Paying for College

Testing Services & Fees

 

 

Paying for College

Full payment of tuition and fees is required by the payment due date posted in RaiderNet. Payment may be made in person for cash or check at any of our campus/center locations. Payment via e-check (ACH), MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover credit cards is available online through the student’s RaiderNet account. Students who have not paid their account balance in full by the payment due date will be dropped from their classes. The College may grant deferments as specifically defined by Florida Statutes. Payment may be made in person for cash or check at any of our campus/center locations. Payment via e-check (ACH), MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover credit cards is available online through the student’s RaiderNet account. Students who have not paid their account balance in full by the payment due date will be dropped from their classes. The College may grant deferments as specifically defined by Florida Statutes.

Information about Financial Aid is available here .

Fees

These fees are subject to change by the Florida Legislature and the Board of Trustees based on the June 2024 Board Meeting. Current fees are available from the College Business Office and are published in the class schedule. These fees apply whenever applicable, except: (1) for courses in which complimentary instructional services or equivalent program costs are provided by appropriate persons, agencies or organizations; or (2) when specifically waived by the Board of Trustees. Active Duty Military residing in this state and their dependents are eligible to pay in-state tuition rate. The Active Duty Service Member and/or their dependent must complete the Declaration of the Florida Residency to receive this benefit. The College’s full residency policy can be found in the Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes section of the Catalog’s Admissions page. The fees listed below are for the 2024-2025 academic year.

Fees are Subject to Change by Action of the Florida Legislature and the NWFSC Board of Trustees without notice. 

Fees Per Credit Hour - Applied Technology Diploma or Career Certificate Program
(30 clock hours = 1 vocational credit hour)

Description Florida Resident Cost Border State (Alabama) Cost NWF Online Out-of-State Cost Non-Florida Resident Cost
Tuition $71.70 $72.70 $72.70 -
Out-of-State Tuition - - - $286.80
Mandatory State Fees* $14.40 $14.40 $14.40 $57.30
Total Tuition $86.10 $87.10 $87.10 $344.10
         

Fees Per Credit Hour - Associate Level and Developmental Education Courses

Description Florida Resident Cost Border State (Alabama) Cost NWF Online Out-of-State Cost Non-Florida Resident Cost
Tuition $82.77 $83.77 $83.77 -
Out-of-State Tuition - - - $331.08
Mandatory State Fees* $21.24 $21.24 $21.24 $66.94
Total Tuition $104.01 $105.01 $105.01 $398.02
         

Fees Per Credit Hour - Bachelor Level 

Description Florida Resident Cost Border State (Alabama) Cost NWF Online Out-of-State Cost Non-Florida Resident Cost
Tuition $91.79 $92.79 $92.79 -
Out-of-State Tuition - - - $367.16
Mandatory State Fees* $30.80 $30.80 $30.80 $83.70
Total Tuition $122.59 $123.59

$123.59

$450.86

*Mandatory Fees represent financial aid, student activity, capital improvement, and technology fees as per Florida Statute 1009.23.

Laboratory and Special Tuition Fees exist to cover unique costs related to a given course. The amount is determined course-by-course and is based on the instructional costs for each. A fee schedule is on file in the Business Office and is printed in the class schedule each session.

 

Full Cost of Instruction for Third Attempt

Per ss. 1009.28 and 1009.285, F.S., after the second attempt in any college-credit or developmental course, a student will be required to pay the full cost of instruction (the out-of-state rate; approximately four times the usual matriculation fees) to repeat the course. A student may petition to have the out-of-state portion waived based on documented extenuating circumstances (i.e., situations that are outside of the student’s control and prevented the student from successfully completing the course during the prior attempts such as illness, death of an immediate family member, call to military duty, etc.) by submitting the Full Cost of Instruction Waiver form found in the Forms section of Raider Central on the main website. Please see the official appeal form for specific guidelines and criteria. Students needing assistance with this form should contact a Student Success Navigator at studentsuccess@nwfsc.edu or (850) 502-2895.

RaiderCards

The RaiderCard is a student identification card that is issued to college credit students after tuition fees are paid. There is a $15 fee per term.

The RaiderCard provides access to the College Learning Resource center and free admission to NWFSC athletic events and certain cultural events offered by the college. RaiderCards are re-activated each time a student re-enrolls.

Other Fees and Charges

Workforce Education

At Full Cost of Instruction

Distance Learning Fee

$15.00 per credit hour

Hybrid Learning Fee

$7.50 per credit hour

Library Purposes

    Lost Book Charge

Actual cost of replacement (if available) or $30.00

Return Check Fee

$25.00

Special Service Charges

At Cost

Student Access Fee*

 

Per semester fee

$15.00

 

Replacement fee

$15.00

Transcript Fee  (per transcript)

$10.00 electronic or $15.00 paper

* Student Access Fee is required of all college credit students.

Course Fees

In accordance with Florida Statute 1009.23 (12)(a), course and lab fees are adjusted each year upon board approval. These fees cover expenses unique to course offerings such as laboratory fees, standardized testing fees, and other direct course level expenditures. To view course and lab fees, visit NWFSC Search.

Fines and Debts to the College

All unpaid debts, including Federal Guaranteed Student Loans, with NWFSC will result in fines being assessed. Students will be prohibited from enrolling until all debts are paid in full. Students may be subject to liabilities for collection costs including attorney’s fees.

Cost Summary

The range of basic charges for a typical full-time college-credit tuition non-baccalaureate student, per year, registered for 15 credit hours per term for two terms are noted below. Lab fees, food, housing, and travel costs depend upon the individual student’s circumstances.

Florida Resident

 

Fees

$3,304.00

Books and Supplies

$1,440.00

 

$4,744.00

Alabama Border-State Resident

 

Fees

$3,334.00

Books and Supplies

$1,440.00

 

$4,774.00

Non-Florida Resident

 

Fees

$11,614.00

Books and Supplies

$1,440.00

 

$13,054.00

Student Tuition Payment Plan

A student tuition payment plan is available on the college website through the NelNet Tuition Installment Program. NWFSC will refuse re-enrollment to any student who is delinquent on their agreement from any preceding semester until all amounts owed on prior agreements are paid or the student is released by NelNet. Please refer to the NWFSC website for additional information or to apply for this service.

Military Assistance

Active-duty military personnel who enroll in college-credit programs through base education offices may be eligible for financial assistance. The college has Military Assistance Agreements in effect with both Eglin Air Force Base and Hurlburt Field. Students using Military Tuition Assistance should receive approval from the Education Service Officer, military counselor, or the Service prior to enrollment.

In compliance with our Memorandum of Understanding with the Department of Defense, DoD Instruction 1322.25, and NWFSC Board of Trustee Policy (SS 7.00), Military Tuition Assistance (TA) is awarded to a student under the assumption that the student will attend school for the entire period for which the assistance is awarded. When a student withdraws, the student may no longer be eligible for the full amount of TA funds originally awarded.

To comply with the Department of Defense policy, Northwest Florida State College will return any unearned TA funds on a prorated basis through at least the 60% portion of the period for which the funds were provided. TA funds are earned proportionally during an enrollment period, with unearned funds returned based upon when a student stops attending. These funds are returned to the military Service branch.

In instances when a Service member stops attending due to a military service obligation, the College will work with the affected Service member to identify solutions that will not result in student debt for the returned portion.

In compliance with the Board of Trustee Policy (BS 18.00), the following academic programs are eligible for fee waivers for students using Military Tuition Assistance: Programs eligible for Military Fee Waivers .

Money-back Guarantee Program 

Graduates of the following programs may be eligible to receive a refund of tuition costs for required program courses if they are not able to find a job in the field in which they were trained within six months of successful completion of the program.  

Programs that are included in this guarantee: 

Before an application for the guarantee is considered, graduates must meet the following eligibility criteria: 

  1. Program attendance: Graduates must have an attendance record while enrolled in the program of study that meet the following criteria:

a. Continuous full-time enrollment (as defined by the program) through the duration of the program.

b. A minimum attendance of 90% of all scheduled class time in program core coursework.

  1. Program performance: Graduates must have a successful completion record for all required and recommended courses, earning a grade of C or better in all coursework. While enrolled in the program, the graduate remained in good standing throughout the program, including no academic integrity violations or Student Code of Conduct disciplinary record or sanctions.

  2. Licensure or certification requirements: Graduates must pass any licensure or certification exam associated with the program.  

  1. Career Service, job fair, or career day attendance: Graduates must provide verifiable documentation as evidence of career service, job fair, or career day attendance and participation upon application for the guarantee.

  1. Participation in internship or work-study programs: As applicable, graduates must provide verifiable documentation of satisfactory completion of an internship or work-study program to include clinical experiences as required by the program.

  1. Job search documentation: Graduates must be legally eligible for employment within the U.S. and must not have a criminal background that prevents employment within the career field. They must provide verifiable documentation that they have registered with Employ Florida and worked with the local CareerSource office for resumé development and employment assistance within two months of completing the NWFSC program of study. Graduates must demonstrate through verifiable documentation that they have been actively searching for in-field employment for at least 6 months from the date of program completion. This search must include the verifiable submission of at least 20 applications for positions for which they are eligible in and out of the NWFSC service region.

Refund Policy

Students will receive a full refund for classes that are canceled by the College. A student can choose to enroll in other classes to which tuition and fees may be credited.

Students who drop a course by the schedule adjustment (drop/add) deadline will receive a full refund of tuition and fees for that course. The schedule adjustment (drop/add) deadline is published annually on the Academic Calendar. Students who would like to request a refund after the schedule adjustment (drop/add) deadline must submit the Refund Request form. Refunds are only considered for documented extenuating circumstances (i.e., situations that are outside of the student’s control such as illness, death of an immediate family member, call to military duty, etc.). Refunds are NOT approved based on changes in work schedules or for enrollment status changes due to illegal activities. The Refund Request must be submitted by the last day of the semester for which a refund is requested as published in the Academic Calendar (the last day of the semester is identified as the Last Day of Term for Students for Session 1). For example, a student seeking a refund for a Fall 2024 course must submit the request no later than the Last Day of Term for Students deadline listed for Session 1 on the Fall 2024 Academic Calendar. See the official request form for specific guidelines and criteria. Students needing assistance with this form should contact a Student Success Navigator at studentsuccess@nwfsc.edu or (850) 502-2895.

Refunds less than $1.00 will be paid in cash at the Business Office located on the Niceville Campus.

Dishonored Check Policy

Checks returned by the bank will be processed as follows:

  1. The student will be notified by certified mail that the bank dishonored their check. A $25 return check charge will be applied to the student’s account.

  2. The student will have seven (7) calendar days to pay for the check and the return check charge. Payment must be in the form of cash or certified funds. If any portion of the dishonored check funds includes payment of tuition and fees, failure to make the payment will result in cancellation of enrollment.
  3. Reinstatement after enrollment cancellation will be considered only after full payment which will include an additional $25 reinstatement fee.
  4. The student’s record at NWFSC will reflect the obligation as an outstanding debt. Students will be prohibited from enrolling until all debts are paid in full.
  5. Students who have written two or more checks with insufficient funds will be subject to disciplinary action even though their checks have been paid. The college will also suspend their check-writing privileges and may report to other colleges and credit reporting agencies.

The college will forward unpaid dishonored checks, returned check charges, and related information about the student to a collection agency within 35 days.